Exhibitions, Events & Invitations

Sunday, 04. September 2022, 11:30am, White Press | Domus Ideas, Komödienstraße 56 - 58, 50667 Cologne, Germany


Onaka Koji hosted miso soup and a book presentation with exhibition at White-Press in Cologne in December 2019. This was our last event before the subsequent pandemic. After now three years with severely limited travel opportunities, we pick up right here again and continue where we were interrupted.

  • PYRAMIDS

    Of the animals of the north, only the reindeer knew where the journey was to go. It willingly gave the child information and told where his beloved companion had been kidnapped. There was ice and snow all the time, the animal creature emphasized. There it is wonderful and beautiful and one jumps freely around in the large shining valleys. And just there the Snow Queen had her summer tent. "But her castle," the reindeer added, "is up towards the North Pole, on the island called Spitsbergen!

    Hans Christian Andersen

  • FARAWAY BOAT



    I hope that through time my selected photographs once forgotten in time will reach as far as possible, as I deem that they are photographs of drifting times as a ship that drifts FARAWAY in the flow of time.

    Koji Onaka

  • CONCORDIA - 10 Years After...

    ...comes across formally like a brochure or a travel magazine. In this lightness we create a "reader" or supplementary volume to the opulent illustrated book. The adventure report, the graphics, the timeline, the psy-chedelic collage and last but not least the reprint of the text by Prof. Dr. Christoph Schaden from 2015 complement the many previously unpublished and re-published photographs. These are intended to shed more "light" on the interior of the wreck than those of the gloomy and mysterious previous book. Both books demonstrate the author's respectful and courageous approach to his subject and are dedicated to the 32 victims and more than 4,000 survivors of the tragedy.

    Helge Schlaghecke

1 from 3

Ausstellungen, Events & Einladungen

Sonntag, 04. September 2022, 11:30am, White Press | Domus Ideas, Komödienstraße 56 - 58, 50667 Köln


Onaka Koji hatte im Dezember 2019 bei White-Press in Köln zu Misosuppe und einer Buchpräsentation mit Ausstellung eingeladen. Das war unsere letzte Veranstaltung vor der darauffolgenden Pandemie. Nach nunmehr drei Jahren mit stark eingeschränkten Reisemöglichkeiten knüpfen wir genau hier wieder an und machen da weiter, wo wir unterbrochen wurden.

  • PYRAMIDEN

    Von den Tieren des Nordens wusste allein das Rentier, wohin die Reise gehen sollte. Bereitwillig gab es dem Kinde Auskunft und erzählte, wohin sein geliebter Gefährte entführt worden war. Dort sei alle Zeit Eis und Schnee, betonte die animalische Kreatur. Dort sei es herrlich und schön und man springe frei umher in den großen glänzenden Tälern. Und eben dort habe die Schneekönigin ihr Sommerzelt. „Aber ihr festes Schloss“, merkte das Rentier noch an, „liegt oben nach dem Nordpol zu, auf der Insel, die Spitzbergen heißt!

    Hans Christian Andersen

  • FARAWAY BOAT



    I hope that through time my selected photographs once forgotten in time will reach as far as possible, as I deem that they are photographs of drifting times as a ship that drifts FARAWAY in the flow of time.

    Koji Onaka

  • CONCORDIA – 10 Years After...

    ...kommt formal wie eine Broschüre oder ein Reisemagazin daher. In dieser Leichtigkeit schaffen wir einen „Reader“ oder Ergänzungsband zum opulenten Bildband. Der Abenteuer- bericht, die Grafiken, die Zeitleiste, die psy-chedelische Collage und nicht zuletzt der Neu-abdruck des Textes von Prof. Dr. Christoph Schaden aus dem Jahr 2015 ergänzen die vielen bislang unveröffentlichten und die wieder veröffentlichten Fotografien. Diese sollen mehr „Licht“ ins Innere des Wracks bringen, als es die des düsteren und geheimnisvollen Vorgän-gerbuchs vermögen. Beide Bücher belegen den respektvollen und mutigen Umgang des Autors mit seinem Thema und sind den 32 Opfern und mehr als 4.000 Überlebenden der Tragödie gewidmet.

    Helge Schlaghecke

1 von 3